What now?

I am not skilled to understand
What God has willed what God Has planned
I only know at his right hand
Stands one who is my Savior –Aaron Shust

Wednesday started as a normal day. Isn’t that how all the stories start when something bad has happened?

It was a normal day and it was ordinary until 3:17.

My husband was fired.

We’ve been married 17-years. We’ve been through lean times, hard time, up’s and down’s. Jobs have come and gone, but that was before we had kids. Sure, we’ve had hard times since then, but my husband hasn’t been without of a job since we had our first child twelve-ears ago.

It’s scary.

I don’t know what’s going to happen from this point forward. I don’t know if everything will be ok or if the world we’ve created will crash and burn.

I don’t know anything, really.

Here’s what I do know: God loves us. I don’t know why we’ve had such a hard year. I don’t know why things have happened the way they’ve happened. All I know is God loves us.

Somehow, someway, Jesus is going to use this situation to make our lives better. Something good is going to come from all of this junk we’ve endured this past year.

It is well with my soul. There are storms and they aren’t easy to weather sometimes, but it is well with my soul.

 

Leave a comment